Are These of Pin-terest to You?

Hello! The school holidays have come, and as I casually avoid the pile of work awaiting me that’s due the beginning of next year, I decided to make these lil’ pins.

These are hand-drawn and painted on shrink plastic, which I then cut and put in the toaster-oven to bake. (If you haven’t heard of shrink plastic – they are sheets of plastic that shrink to 1/2 their original size and thicken when heat is applied. ✧✧ magic ✧✧). There are many Etsy sellers and freelance artists who make these pins, and I drew my inspiration from them. The ones I made are faaaaar from professional or as good as theirs, but I thought I’d share them with you anyway. It was a fun little project to take my mind of stress and stuff. Here they are!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
“Do More of What Makes You Happy”

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
“IB dead by the end of the week” = accurate representation of me

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
A Beach Hut.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Vincent Van Gogh

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Zoe Sugg
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Alfie Deyes

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

If you noticed, the backgrounds a pretty Christmassy. Yes, my family is ready for Christmas and it is hardly December. No, it is not to early. Hope you enjoyed this post! 🙂

p.s. if you like any of the pins and would like me to make one for you, or if you want me illustrate your portrait and transform that to pin-form, feel free to leave me a message! I’ll put them up for sale upon request. 🙂

Remember to follow this blog if you wanna! Open the sidebar and leave your email. 🙂

x, Nat.

 

7 thoughts on “Are These of Pin-terest to You?

    1. Hey Sarah! Of course, I’d love to 🙂
      The process is very simple – just a matter of going out to buy some shrink plastic (any craft store), drawing and painting your design on it, cutting the design out, and putting it in the over to shrink.

      I used acrylic paints and i think this is the best way to go! I don’t recommend any alcohol-based pigment because the last time i tried using things like nailpolish, they burned in the oven ahah! After i fill in the main colours, i painted a coat of white paint, followed by a coat of matte black spray paint over the back of the pin just so it’ll look a little nicer. Its all up to your preference, though!

      I finally used varnish over the front of the pin for a glossier finish. That’s about all! 🙂 If you need/want any pictures, let me know and i’ll try to get them up.

      -nat

      Like

      1. Hey thank you so much for your reply! Just wondering, did you paint on the back side of the plastic? 😅 And some photos would be good! Sorry for bothering and thank you!

        Like

      2. Yes i did paint on the back side of the plastic 🙂 sure, i’ll try to get to getting pictures up soon as i’ve just arrived back from a trip and will be leaving again in 2 days! do try then out in the mean time though, if you wanna 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

